In 1978 three 4WD enthusiasts got together and decided to form a club to bond other interested 4WD enthusiasts together from Rotorua and the wider Bay Of Plenty.

The first official meeting was held and the Geyserland 4WD Club was born. Those three, the founding fathers of the Geyserland 4WD Club, were Bill Mutlow, Ian Wood, and Kelvin McKirty.

Over 40 years have gone by, and the Club still remains true to its form: to bond 4WD enthusiasts together.

Many things have changed in the recreational 4WD scene over the years, including a growing competitive side of the sport, a governing body; the NZFWDA (New Zealand Four Wheel Drive Association), being established to represent the many Clubs that have been formed throughout the country, and an overwhelming technological advancement in 4WD vehicles and their associated accessories, to name a few.

Our ranks are made up of individuals from a vast array of backgrounds, each bringing to the Club experience and skills and a unique ability to mold together and form a functioning organisation, with 4WDing and the challenges it presents, as its grounding foundation.

The formation of the Geyserland 4WD Club is in general much the same as most Club organisations, with key persons volunteered and nominated into appointed positions.

Each year the Club holds its annual AGM at which nominations are tendered for a 12-month term on the Club Committee. Our current Club Committee positions and their appointed officers are:

  • President: George Estcourt (Toyota 60 series)
  • Vice President: Doug Cooper (Nissan Safari)
  • Secretary: Edwin de Beun (Toyota 80 series)
  • Treasurer: Edwin de Beun (Toyota 80 series)
  • Zone Delegate: Peter Little (Toyota 80 series)
  • H&S Officer: Bevan Wood (Jeep)
  • Inspection Officer: Doug Cooper (Nissan Safari)
  • Inspection Officer: Aaron Smythe (Nissan Safari)
  • Equipment Officer: Aaron Smythe (Nissan Safari)

We also have the following non-committee positions:

  • Hospitality Coordinator: Donna Little (Toyota 80 series)
  • Website Editor: position vacant